ceci n’est pas une rose

by janedotx7

Image

 

By any other name, it ought to be “this is a pencil sketch of a rose.”

Look at me, I put in two literary references into this blog post!

I think this one is pretty decent. It feels weird to say this, but I think I’ve mastered the basics of drawing 2-dimensional things. I can tell what the shadows on the petals are and why they are the way they are, and knowing these things, I can communicate with my pencil (or really, Miss Ellen Cassidy’s pencil) the three-dimensional structure of the rose. I’m also pretty happy with the leaves. The weight of the lines is too similar throughout, though, but I didn’t have a pencil sharpener. 

It never fails to astonish me how much better everything I draw looks once it’s been filtered by the lens of my shitty little camera phone. I look at it and it’s like what, did I do that on purpose? Whoa.